HEOS 7

HEOS 7 is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 76.
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_HEOS7HS2, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_denon
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

  • High Resolution Audio Support
  • Bluetooth® Integrated
  • The ultimate in wireless speaker performance
  • Two custom tweeters and two mid-woofers; large subwoofer and two passive radiators; powered by five dedicated Class D amplifiers
  • Rich genuine materials, including a brushed metallic apex

    Switch color:

Features - HEOS 7

Bigger is better when it's time to party.

Ideal for large rooms and open areas such as living rooms, patios, or open-floor-plan homes.


This large speaker is top of the line, for those who demand the best, biggest, loudest. It plays cloud music, music stored on your phone or tablet, plus USB sources, too. Now you can even listen to your favorite Bluetooth® enabled sources on your HEOS system. Sounds like a party already, doesn’t it?


Sculpted to project prodigious performance, the HEOS 7 is beautifully finished with rich genuine materials, including a brushed metallic apex. It also features a crafted blend of five custom drivers, two passive radiators, five Class D amplifiers, all of which are controlled with state-of-the-art digital signal processing.

  • Effortlessly fills large rooms with huge sound
  • Bluetooth® Built-In - giving you the choice of utilizing Wi-Fi networks or Bluetooth to stream music on the HEOS wireless multi-room sound system.
  • Now offering High Resolution Audio delivering the ultimate listening experience over network or USB all in the convenience of your home.
  • Sound is optimized via precision acoustical processing algorithms that originated in top recording studios.
  • Stream from your favorite music service such as Spotify, Pandora, TuneIn, Amazon Music, iHeart Radio, SiriusXM, SoundCloud, TIDAL or Rhapsody
  • FREE HEOS APP FOR IOS, ANDROID AND KINDLE
  • Stream music stored locally on your Smart Device or Tablet
  • A USB jack and auxiliary input jack allow playback from these sources to one or more HEOS players, perfectly synchronized
  • Built-in dual band wireless connects to standard home wireless networks
  • Volume up, volume down and mute buttons, mute LED indicator, multicolor status LED indicator
  • Headphone output exclusive to HEOS 7
  • Ethernet jack for wired network connectivity
  • Bass and treble controls

All HEOS speakers feature:

MULTI-ROOM SOUND

Every room can have its own HEOS sound. Or, group multiple speakers to fill the house with the same song. Multi-room means multiple options.
learn more

APPS & STREAMING SERVICES

Cloud music, streaming music and your music library—all your favorite sources are supported by this amazing FREE app.
learn more

AMAZING SOUND QUALITY

It’s no accident that HEOS speakers produce pristine sound. They are engineered by the experts at Denon, innovators in audio for more than 100 years.
learn more

EASY SETUP

It’s amazing how quickly you can start listening to your HEOS speakers. Place your speakers, and you will be listening to music in minutes. It’s really that simple.
learn more

Amazon Alexa Voice Control

Use your voice to stream your favorite music services to this HEOS-enabled device. Ask Alexa to play music from Pandora, Amazon Music and much more. Switch between inputs (Blu-ray, DVD, Media Player, etc.), turn volume up or down, pause, mute and play the next song — all with your voice.

To start streaming with Alexa voice commands, open the Alexa app and select “Skills.” Add HEOS Home Entertainment to enable. Then, go to Smart Home in the Alexa app menu and choose Devices and Discover or say “Alexa, discover my devices.”

With HEOS Home Entertainment and Alexa, you can stream to this product and any other HEOS-enabled device.
learn more

Google Assistant Voice Control

Ask your Google Home, Google app or other devices with Google Assistant built-in to control content across your listening environment. Start music in the HEOS app, then ask your Google Assistant to control volume, play, pause, skip tracks and more. ‘Works with the Google Assistant’ feature is always improving — further enhancements arrive in 2019.
learn more

Josh.ai Smart Home Voice Automation

An elevated voice agent for the high-end smart home, Josh.ai offers flexible voice control for nearly any aspect of your day-to-day experience and entertainment environment. Use voice commands to control the thermostat, lights, home appliances, speakers, AVR and more. Josh.ai is installed by custom integrators and accessed through an app on your phone or tablet. Works with iOS and Android devices.
learn more

Specs - HEOS 7

Audio System

7 Driver Speaker System 5 active drivers, including 2 precision tweeters, 2 mid-woofers, 1 subwoofer. 2 passive radiators provide additional bass augmentation.

Class D Digital Amplification 5 channels of Class D digital amplification provide high efficiency, lowest distortion and widest dynamic range.

Headphone Output Equipped with a standard 3.5mm stereo headphone jack, the HEOS 7 features automatic speaker muting when a headphone plug is inserted into the headphone jack.

Auxiliary Analog Line Input The 3.5mm stereo analog auxiliary line input lets users connect a device with analog stereo output directly to the HEOS 7.

Music Sources

Music Subscription Services The HEOS app lets you choose from popular subscription streaming services including Spotify, TuneIn, SiriusXM, SoundCloud, TIDAL, Napster, Deezer and Mood:Mix. More services will be added soon.

Internet Radio Stations Choose from your favorite internet radio stations and listen to MP3 and WMA streaming audio.

Music Formats Supported Audio Formats Supported:
WMA: Up to and including 192kbps
AAC and MP3: Up to and including 320kbps
WAV, ALAC and FLAC: Up to and including 24-bit/192kHz.
DSD: 2.8MHz, 5.6MHz

Bluetooth Supported Play on one speaker or add other HEOS speakers in party mode.

Picture Formats Supported HEOS 7 supports JPG, PNG, BMP and GIF album art picture formats.

USB Drives Supported

HEOS 7 supports USB thumb drives via the built-in USB port. Music content on a USB drive can be played back locally, or on any or all HEOS players on your network.

“Availability of music services may vary by region. Not all services may be available at time of purchase. Some services may be added or discontinued from time to time based on decisions of the music service providers or others. Visit www.HEOSbyDenon.com for announcements and details.”

Networking

Wireless Connection Connect to your wireless network quickly and easily. HEOS 7 supports the latest 802.11 networks (including dual band "N") for the most reliable network connection.

Wired Connection Connect to your home or office LAN system via the RJ-45 wired LAN port.

General

Ideal for large rooms and open areas such as living rooms, patios, or open-floor-plan homes.

Drive Units two tweeters, two mid-woofers, and one woofer

NEW Bluetooth Capability Yes

NEW High Resolution Audio Support Yes

Enclosure Design two passive radiators

Amplifier Channels 5

3.5mm audio line-in connection Yes (1)

USB port for direct connection of stored music Yes (1)

Wired Network Ethernet Jack (1)

Wireless Network 802.11a/b/g/n/ac standard on 2.4GHz and 5Ghz bands

3.5mm Headphone Output jack Yes (1)

Includes threaded hole for wall/stand mounting No

Placement Horizontal

Power Supply 100~240 Volts AC, 50~60 Hz, auto-switching power adapter

What's In The Box HEOS 7 player, AC power adapter, 3.5mm setup cable, Ethernet cable for wired LAN hookup, Quick Start guide.

Controls and Indicators Volume up/down
Mute / Mute button LED indicator
Multicolored LED status indicator
Network ‘connect’ button (rear)
Recessed reset button (rear)
Bluetooth ‘connect’ button (rear)
3.5mm Headphone jack

Weight 9.9 lbs; 4.5 kg

Multiple Language Support English, French, Spanish

Dimensions (H x W x D) 8 x 18.9 x 6.5 inches; 203 x 479 x 164 mm

Operating Temperature Range 41°F~95°F; 5°C~35°C

Product Finish Black

Downloads - HEOS 7

pdf file
Online Manual
pdf file
Owner's Manual - English

4.76 MB
2016-12-20

pdf file
Owner's Manual - French

4.75 MB
2016-12-20

pdf file
Quick Start Guide - English

3.56 MB
2016-04-18

pdf file
Quick Start Guide - French

3.55 MB
2016-04-18

pdf file
Specification Sheet - English

3.74 MB
2016-09-25

Videos - HEOS 7

HEOS 7
Anywhere Sounds Amazing
HEOS Loves Spotify Connect

Reviews And Awards - HEOS 7

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent sound Absolutely the best speaker! The sound is amazing! Turn the volume all the way up and the sound is clear and crisp without sacrifice. This is the definition of a quality speaker. Thanks Denon for a great product.
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great sound, difficult to use We were looking for something to replace our Bose Wave, something with bluetooth to connect to our phones. We tried the Heos system. I'm not a fan of all the internet based services that are being promoted. I like to play the music I have in my library. This Heos system does not simply allow you to play your own music. It's overly complex to just play your music. You have to go through the app, which is very glitchy, then you have to add music to the queue before you can play it. Too many steps for me. And no FM radio option! The sound quality was second to none, I enjoyed the fullness and bass the speaker provides. After a few weeks, we returned it and kept our Bose and bought there bluetooth adapter.
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great sound I almost bought a sonos system, then I heard these. They blow away the sonos speakers. I purchased two of these and have them in a different room then my Marantz receiver and they fill the house with sound. It is really easy to set up, pair to iphone, iPad, mac book, iMac and receiver. When I want sound outside or in the garage, it is easy to unplug, move and plug back in. They synch back up in less than 30 seconds and are ready to go, alone or the pair. Once initial setup is done, they will play anywhere the wifi goes, even with an extender. Truly amazing, great purchase
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best sounding wireless speaker system! I have been skeptical about a single wireless speaker system ever since they were introduced. How could they deliver the type of full range sound I've grown accustomed to from the two channel stereo systems I've been listening to forever? Well, I finally bit the bullet as I've been looking for a solution for a small room and did not have the space nor budget for a complete audio system. I had a quick listen to a bunch of offerings from the usual suspects; Sonos, Bose, Sony, Samsung, etc, not necessarily side-by-side, and decided to go with the Denon Heos 7, which is their top of the line model. I selected the Heos 7 because they sounded best to me in the showroom and because of Denon's engineering, my previous experience with their products, and their reputation as a respected audio manufacturer. And boy, did I make the right choice! As soon as I unboxed it, I knew that this speaker was something special. It was easy to set up out of the box You simply download the Heos application onto your smart phone and within a few simple steps, you're streaming and listening to music. The Denon Heos 7 is by far the best sounding wireless speaker system I've heard to date and I've listened to many, including the market leading Sonos. None of the others come close to throwing a soundstage or producing the richness of sound like the Heos 7. I've got it temporarily set up in a fairly large sized room (12' x 20') with a 16 foot vaulted ceiling, and the imaging is incredible. Every genre of music sounds excellent and the bass is respectable for such a small speaker. No boominess or distortion even at loud playing levels. The Heos app is intuitive with just a minor delay when adjusting the sound or switching from track to track. I suspect the delay is attributed to the wireless network. There is support out of the box for a variety of music services including Pandora, Spotify, SiriusXM, Rhapsody, etc. However, one thing I tried unsuccessfully to do was set up the Heos as a DLNA device so that I could stream Youtube. I guess I'll have to research this further if it's possible or call and ask Denon support. The Heos 7 sounds great on it's own so I would love to hear how a two Heos system would sound as a stereo pair. On top of all this, the Heos 7 is a great looking speaker with a blue light glowing beneath it, so it definitely meets the WAF!
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awesome speaker - horrible app! I love the speaker sound quality. It has a hearty, full sound. It easily fills a large room. I have HEOS throughout the house. 1 - Cinema Soundbar, 1 - HEOS 3, 1 - HEOS 5, 2 - HEOS 7. Great sound! The HEOS app is another story. It crashes, hides speakers, doesn’t allow rooms to group, won’t keep up with the actual song playing (pandora), the list goes on. I called customer service at 6PM central time on Friday 3-2. They are supposedly open until 1000PM, received voice mail that the office was closed. Had an event at my house and couldn’t group all speakers - very embarrassing. I read other reviews before buying, but thought I could overcome the “tech” challenges. Don’t do it until the app is fixed! Again - awesome speaker sound. Horrible app and no support from customer service.
Date published: 2018-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Return your Sonos If you like music and want to be in control... HEOS is for you! I actually bought the entire sonos system and after hearing HEOS at the store I returned the sonos and made a major switch and ... it was the best decision. I also upgraded my receiver to an HEOS Marantz 5012. I normally never write a review but this product calls for it. I wish I new more about it before I bought sonos. Some it up.... sonos has better marketing and HEOS has better sound. The choice is yours... sheep or wolf
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product but could use improvement Overall I like the speaker. The sound is overall good. The bass really pumps but is also adjustable, which is good. The app is pretty good, but could use some functionality improvements and updates. Including Apple music would be a needed improvement and having more fine-tuned volume adjustments. Compared to Sonos, I think HEOS is pretty comparable in sound. Plus, the HEOS can be connected via Bluetooth, Wifi, or aux in. The cost is a little high, but it seems like all these wifi speaker are.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Path to Big Sound I went from opening the box to room-filling sound in less than 10 minutes. This speaker is by far better than all other wireless speakers I have owned. The set-up was easy and the HEOS app is a cinch to work.
Date published: 2016-08-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible app The sound is nice, but the app is HORRIBLE and extremely buggy. Frequent error messages won't resolve unless we restart our devices. Denon support is equally frustrating (phones calls were usually not answered!). You can't play your music without the app and there isn't an app for Mac computers. That's right, YOU CAN'T PLAY MUSIC FROM A MAC unless you additionally pay for a 3rd party monthly service (Plex, $4.99/month). Why should I pay to hear my own music? We set up our iMac as a share, but it works so infrequently that my kids won't try anymore. The only way to resolve this issue is to delete the share and restart the speaker. You also can't play DRM-protected music from the app. This means that you can't listen to any music purchased from iTunes before 2008. Worthless! Do not buy these speakers!
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Sound, pitty about the integration issues Firstly, what great sound... their is control and depth, soundstage and fluidity that I have not heard in a single speaker for a long time... it's rich and warm. Bass can be overbearing if positioned in a dead spot. BUT.... I have a Denon AVR too - AVR-X6300h, so thought great I can pair it with that and play sound where I want it... Hence the range topping HEOS7. Well unfortunately that didn't go as planned for the following reasons: 1) The HEOS app doesn't play all the music I've accumulated in ITunes on my device... 40 - 50% of the tracks are greyed out due to Apple Music DRM... Not specifically a HEOS issue, but what's the point if I can't play it.. Funnily, I can play tracks on the AMP via AIRPLAY, but that can't send said tracks to the HEOS speaker. 2) TV Grouping doesn't work almost at all.. If you play a TV channel it's fine. The minute you switch a smart TV function on - like you tube, or Netflix, it all falls apart... Doesn't work at all. TV is connected through ARC HDMI to AMP So the result.. I returned the product.. not becuase I didn't like it, but becuase there are too many finickity issues to deal with.. i just want something that works seamlessly!
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HEOS system I've purchased 3 of these speakers now, They're easy to set up, and the sound is excellent. Each speaker can be controlled individually from my tablet (both music selection and volume). The only problem I've had is a tendency to drop off-line several times a day because of my poor internet service (1-2 mbps dsl). Generally it's been easy to re-start, but it is a frustration. I'm considering satellite service, but online reviews are not generally favorable.
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid speaker A solidly constructed, quality speaker. Like a lot of speakers on the market, it is low base and vocals forward, but pleasant sound. This is fine at med. and higher volumes, but less pleasant at v low volumes. It was not reliable when setup as Bluetooth. However, went setup PROPERLY on wi-if is is reliable. Very easy to control with ones phone/tablet. Visually appealing. A $600 price point is a stretch, but on sale it’s a fair cost/value proposition.
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Superb sound poorer than poor app Sound is extraordinary. Have an H7 stereo pair streaming FLAC music and it is overwhelming. Congrats Denon for standing up to your name in audio quality! Nonetheless, as good as the sound is, the app is a complete flop. Super easy to use and really intuitive, if it only worked. Totally unstable and unreliable, too bad. My recommendations to Denon: 1) Work on stability on that app, it is a MUST, given the fact that it is the only way to control the sound coming out of the speakers. 2) Re-program the "MUTE" button on the speakers so on the next firmware update they can (i) play the last streamed music service (ii) stop playing music (iii) mute (iv) skip to next track (v) rewind. It is only a matter of programming. 3) Work on your customer service area to meet up to the sound quality of Denon's audio systems. 4) Work on a desktop app por Mac OS X
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Outstanding The complete Heos offering is simply AMAZING. We jumped into the whole-house music experience full force. I have the Heos 1, 3, 5 in pairs and the Heos 7 as a standalone. The Heos 7 is an amazing speaker that really puts out the sound - clear highs - great midrange - booming bass. I compared Heos with the other "###os" and am glad I chose Heos. The footprint and design of the speaker is sexy as well. I highly recommend this speaker.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sound okay, multiple zones inconsistent I have 3 different Heos devices-- an Heos 7 in my office, an amp powering a set of stereo speakers in the master bedroom, and then a 9.1 amp powering my t.v. (5.1), kitchen and patio. Sometimes I can group them and they work. Other times, one or two of them don't play. I have wifi boosters in 2 different areas. Even then, connections are often lost. Seems like the technology isn't quite there yet. Too many glitches.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fine sound. Poor app functionality/connectivity The HEOS speaker provides fine sound quality for the small/medium size room it is in. I purchased on sale at $299.00 and think that is a better price point for the product. The application functionality and connectivity is not good. HEOS really needs to take steps to improve this aspect of the product. However, that is software and from a hardware perspective it works well as an additional component to my receiver.
Date published: 2018-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, so much great sound! Wow! So much great sound!!! This whole line of HEOS is truly incredible. I have been installing audio systems as a professional for over 14 years and this is truly the first time I have been "wowed" by any wireless system of any kind! In the industry in a whole we usually always stayed away from anything wireless, as it just was not good, the sound quality was bad, the reliability was bad and so on, well until now. As you may know this is a direct competitor to Sonos brand. Though Sonos has come a very long way, it took them years to get there and in my opinion HEOS did it better and is better from the get go. Especially on the gen 2, it all has built in bluetooth on all the models. The quality of sound, the fullness of sound and the versatility of these speakers are outstanding. Though these speakers are very easy to set up, if there is one downside that I have experienced as I have set many of these up and again it's a very minor issue. But I wish they would not require you to have to plug the aux cord in from a cell phone/ipad and also have to enter the wifi password as well. Like I said, not a big deal at all, just seems with all the technology today, it could all be done wirelessly. As for the versatility, it is so awesome to seamlessly be able to connect any HEOS speaker to any HEOS device and other HEOS speakers and play them all the same, link 2 together for a stereo pair, or even use them as rear surround speakers. So many options it's just awesome! As for the app, it is very easy to use has some very cool features and a lot of music options! There are a couple things I'd like to see tweaked a bit, but that's probably just for my personal liking is all. All and all these are fantastic speakers and I absolutely love them!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional sound! ¨This was my first HEOS speaker (no. 7 HS2). I placed it on a shelf 10 cm from the concrete wall with half a meter space to the left, right, and above. It fills the room surprisingly well. With one word, it's AMAZING. It doesn't matter where in the room I stand or even if I lay down. Bass is convincingly strong and very much to my taste. I understand that others may find it too rich and will need to set it in the app. After this speaker, I decided that HEOS system is the right one for me. It comes cheap compared to other solutions on the market. My HEOS 7 cost 500€ in EU and you only need for the whole room. I purchased a pair of HEOS 1 which do not sound so well. I purchased an AVR to connect my existing speakers to the HEOS system. I am able to listen to any mp3 on my computer (cast to option in windows 10) and also any sound on my phone but this is limited to a Bluetooth connection with any HEOS device. This can be a bit troublesome especially if you move too far away from the speaker you're connected to. In such cases, the Bluetooth connection is lost and the sound as well. I wish I could use WiFi connection instead of Bluetooth connection to listen to any sound from my phone in all selected rooms. Sadly this is not the case. It appears to be a software issue and I've read numerous reviews how customers are not satisfied with the HEOS app. I agree with them. Sometimes there are updates during the night and in the morning there's just no sound. It takes you quite some time to get things back in order and it's frustrating. Without the app, this speaker would face a much larger competition in its price range. One other remark, this speaker covered in textile is always covered in dust and it seems impossible to thoroughly clean it.
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wish HEOS Supported Apple Music Great speaker but I use Apple Music so it is basically a glorified Bluetooth speaker to connect to my iPhone. The HEOS platform won’t integrate with Apple Music nor with playlists on your iPhone, so you have to connect to Bluetooth on the HEOS 7. I also have a HEOS receiver and it’s just not seamless with Apple Music. Would give 4/5 stars if they would integrate as Sonos does
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific speaker to anchor my HEOS system. As many others have mentioned, the sound from the HEOS 7 is terrific. When turned up, I can literally feel the bass on the other side of my house...all while keeping things sounding crisp and never boomy. I have many HEOS speakers in my house (HEOS 1 and Link) and overall, the system won't let you down. If connecting via wifi, keep in mind that if you don't use a speaker for a while, it will disconnect until you press the volume buttons or pause button on the speaker. This could be an issue if you mount the speakers out of reach in a room. I look forward to the next version of the app. While not bad now, it could be much better. Finally, in October, Denon touted integration with the Amazon Echo. Then...crickets. I'm all about the Echo and automation and the thought oh my entire HEOS system integrating with it, gets me excited. I only hope that Denon makes good on that promise. Buy the HEOS 7 (especially at a reduced price bargain) and you won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior Sound I'm continually amazed at the sound that comes out of this little box. I'm not an audiophile but I do have a good ear for quality sound. The app took a little getting used to but over time has become simple and familiar. I would have been willing to pay full price but getting it on sale added to the value.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Sound This is a great all purpose speaker as it sounds great at both high or low levels. Nice rich bass with solid midrange and nicely audible high range.Denon did a great job on this one. The only issue I have is the app needs work as it will often not load on my iPhone 7 Plus unless I reboot the phone first
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the time or money We decided to replace our Cube Speakers (which still work fine) for the HEOS 7 Speakers for our business. They never worked properly from the get go... the HEOS representative was disinterested when we contacted them with the issues and did nothing to help solve the connection and syncing issues.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage Software The hardware is beautiful and sounds great. The software (on Android) makes the speaker almost unusable. Ugly, slow, dropped connections, and intrusive (requires gps location information as of the last update). What good is excellent hardware when necessary software is terrible?
Date published: 2018-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from seriously, analog sources only? This is a joke right? It's 2018 and your speakers aren't any more advanced than a Walkman from the 80s as far as the sources audio format? This is useless for any receiver that relies on digital sources. So if you want a glorious fm/am radio speaker feel free to waste your money.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from heos = denon's big fail speaker looks and sounds ok for a single mono speaker. bluetooth interferes with my mouse and when i turn my computer on it starts broadcasting to the speaker replacing what my phone was playing through it and no windows or osx app? this is a fail.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NIce Room filling sound I was back and forth between Sonos and Heos 7. Decided on the Heos 7 when I saw it on sale for $399. Turns out this is product is much better than I anticipated. A very substantial sound at a great price point. Treat yourself you won't be sorry.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected! I have two Heos 5 speakers and decided to purchase the "big boy". I have the Heos 7 at one end of the room and the two Heos 5 sat the other end. All were easy to setup and pair, and although I was expecting great sound, they are even better!
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great sound but APP for IOS 10 does not work I decided on Heos 7 2 separate speakers. WHY ?: 1. I great sound quality. Compared with BOSE Soundlink 30 ( good bass and trebble but not good voice frequencies and overpriced. 599+ TAX in Canada , Sonos PLAY 5 = good voice sound but terrible base salesman told me you need subwoofer ( $899+ TAX ) yeah RIGH! . Heos7 sounded best of them all, this is my personal opinion. 2. You can combo 2 speakers to make L+R channels for stereo SOUND! + you can change BASS and TREBLE via APP. APP sucks! I connected to device but I could not play or switch sources or change volume stop or pause. whatever I did in APP did not work. FIRMWARE UPGRADE took forever = no progress bar and I had to shutdown app to continue.Finally looks like it updated since I checked firmware version and it was last current one. But it did not change any behaviour of the APP, still not control over VOLUME, STOP, PAUSE. Speaker best plays from online radio or directly from smart device, AUX IN - would not work until I changed cable from OEM to regular 3.5MM stereo MALE to MALE plug.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I wnated. I was looking for a very good quality speaker that I could move to different rooms and could access all kinds of media from my music to streaming every radio station on the planet.........this system does that. Best out there for now.
Date published: 2017-08-06
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_HEOS7HS2, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_denon
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Q&A - HEOS 7

I have my Heos 7.2 surround sound receiver hooked up to my cable box and TV and am wondering if I add a heos speaker will I be able to get the audio for the cable/TV to come out of the Heos speaker. I can only find references to streaming music.

Asked by: Itriskguy
Hello Itriskguy, Yes, you will be able to re-stream content from the TV to another HEOS device. For instructions, please give our tech support a call at 201-762-6665 M-F 10am-7pm EST.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-11-23

Will HEOS 7 and / or HEOS 3 be adding Airplay 2 support? If so, is there a published timeline?

Asked by: SK27
Hello SK27, No, the HEOS 1, 3, 5, and 7 will not support AirPlay 2. But our Denon and Marantz receivers will.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-08-18

I bought the heos 7 I also have to denon s940 How do I get them connected because when I try bluetooth the s940 does not connect to heos 7

Asked by: Trav
Hello Trav, You cannot use Bluetooth to connect them. You would use WiFi. They would need to be set up on the network using the HEOS app. Then in the app, you will drag and drop the speakers on each other to form a group.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-08-01

Good Afternoon, My name is Nancy Dowdell and I am interested in your Enos7.  My home is equipped with a sound system and wondering if your system would work if attached to my speakers and controlled with the Enos app.  Please let me know and thank you,.

Asked by: Nancy Dowdell
Hello Nancy, If you want the HEOS speakers to work with your existing setup, then you will nee the HEOS Link. it is a pre-amplifier that you connect to your already existing receiver.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-07-14

.Can you tell me the frequency range of HEOS7

Asked by: pierre jun
Hello pierre jun, Since this is an active speaker and not a passive speaker, we do not release a frequency spec for this model.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-11-22

What series heos 7 is current?

Asked by: Jason powell
Hello Jason Powell, Currently we have a HEOS 7 HS2. Meaning series 2. It can work with Alexa.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2019-02-12

Does anyone know how to get a playlist with more than 300 songs on it? I have many such playlists (e.g. "Dylan Studio Albums", "Favorites") on my NAS, & would like to shuffle all songs in one of those playlists. Heos will only Q the first 300 songs.

Asked by: alan278
Hello Alan278, Unfortunately HEOS only supports 300 songs per device queue or playlist.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2019-02-12

Hello Are the Heos speakers suitable for extended outdoor use? Are they considered outdoor speakers?  Thanks 

Asked by: Paul P
Hello Paul P, The HEOS speakers are not rated for outdoor use. They can be used outside with an extender, that's fine. But I would not use them in the rain, or leave them outside. Only the HEOS1 is portable, the others like the 7 need to be plugged into power too.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-03-08

Bluetooth is in the Heos speakers and sound bars. Does Heos Bluetooth support AAC, aptX, or aptX HD over Bluetooth? Thanks.

Asked by: Joseph1
Hello Joseph1, HEOS does support AAC but it does not support aptX or aptX HD.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-03-05

I purchased the Dennon 4300 AVR and trying to ascertain what to do with my whole house AV using the Dennon Link. I have a Bose 5 speaker with two subwoofers previously driven by a Yamaha , a Polk single speaker, a Samsung bar w a bluetooth subwoofer

Asked by: Dragon Master
Hello Dragon Master, You can use the Link if you have another receiver that does not use HEOS, so the Yamaha. The Polk speaker most likely uses PlayFi, which is different from HEOS but the same concept. And the Samsung bar with Bluetooth will not compatible with Bluetooth. You should work on replacing everything this is not HEOS with HEOS products.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2019-02-12

Can the Heissner 7 work with Denon System with Bluetooth FM/AM Tuner CD Player as the source?

Asked by: Wolftiki
Hello Wolftiki, I'm not sure what the Heissner 7 is. I have googled it and was not able to come up with anything. Please call our team at 201-762-6665 M-F 10am-7pm EST
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-02-06

Does HEOS Support Google Play Music?

Asked by: M15tryj1
Hello M15tryj1, No, HEOS does not support Google Play Music. Here are the services we do support: Pandora, iHeart Radio, Amazon Music Unlimited, Tidal, Napster, Spotify, Deezer, SiriusXM and Music directly from your phone's library.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-02-02

I just bought an AVR-X2400H Denon receiver and am now looking for speakers. My question is now after looking at speakers, is do I need this receiver or can I play music and Sirius from my computer direct to the HEOS 7 speakers? 

Asked by: GeofL
Hello GeofL, You can use the HEOS 7 either with or seperate from the AVR-X2400H. But to use the AVR-X2400H with HEOS you will need to connect passive speakers to it. You can use the computer with HEOS. I would take a look at either Polk Audio or Definitive Technology for speakers.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-02-02

I have the Heos 5, 7, and Cinema Bar. I have WMP .wma files on my PC and a storage drive with DLNA Media enabled. I can play any song from either "Media Server" on any one speaker but when I pair/group any other speaker I get no sound from it, why??

Asked by: RichieC
Hello RichieC, The first thing to verify in this scenario would be to make sure all HEOS devices that are connected on this network are updated to the latest or same HEOS firmware version. Mismatched firmware versions could cause issues similar to what you are experiencing.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2017-10-24

I have got music on my pc, in old fashioned folders. How can i play it on heos 7 hs2? Is the app working on pc? can i just upload my folders in the app as i do for Sonos 5? Will il work also with bluetooth connection?

Asked by: Fabio78
Hello Fabio78, You can play only music directly from a Windows 7, 8 or 10 PC by right clicking on a Music file and choosing “Play To” or “ Cast to Device”
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-12-14

If I got heos sound bar for tv and heos 7 speaker for hot tub would they be in sync with sound

Asked by: Anthony L
Hello Anthony L, yes you will be able to "group" the speakers together and have the HEOS bar play the same thing the HEOS7 speaker is playing and vise a versa.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2017-09-28

Can I connect a Heos 7 to my Denon sound bar? There is not a wired connection I can find form the sound bar and the sound bar is not on Wi-Fi. The sound bar is connected with a digital audio connection to the Direct TV box.

Asked by: V MAx Mike
If it's a Denon sound bar (DHT-S514) and not a HEOS sound bar, then there is no way to connect the HEOS 7. If it's a HEOS sound bar, the only way to get the HEOS 7 to play along with the sound bar would be to connect the sound bar to the network and group the speaker using the HEOS app.
Answered by: Mike D
Date published: 2017-07-25

Hi, just bought new Heos 7 and it plays excellent. BUT I also wanted to use it as a speaker for PC. Now, I can use "Cast to" for mp3s. But the only way to use Heos 7 as speaker for PC is to connect it via AUX IN and than the have this sound delay. Right?

Asked by: sskoric
To play audio from your PC, other than casting your music library, you can connect the PC to the AUX In terminal. Because this is directly connected to the speaker it will play without delay. It will only introduce a delay when other HEOS speakers are grouped with it.
Answered by: Mike D
Date published: 2018-12-14

Will Google play music work with my heos7?

Asked by: Petemac
HEOS does not support Google Play Music at this time, but you can connect a Chromecast Audio to the AUX input and use it to cast music to the speaker. Thanks!
Answered by: Mike D
Date published: 2017-05-16

why itunes for Windows does not recognize heos speaker but recognize receiver 2312.They are in the same network in my pc.

Asked by: Ben281024
Hello. Although your Denon AVR-2312CI receiver supports Airplay, HEOS products do not. This is why you don't see the HEOS speaker in the list of available playback devices in iTunes.
Answered by: Mike D
Date published: 2017-03-18

I am wondering if there's any way I can connect a heos speaker (ex: heos 7 or the soundbar) to my TV and still control the volume with the TV remote? Right now using the audio output from the TV to my current home stereo I have to use the stereo remote.

Asked by: Chrisfromwisconsin
Yes, the soundbar has remote learning for both up and down volume, and mute allowing you to change volume using your TV's remote control. I am using a Sony LCD TV remote to control both the TV and the soundbar.
Answered by: GaryG
Date published: 2017-02-06

I have a Denon AVR-X6300H - can I group Heos wireless speakers to the right and left surround channels? All of my wired speakers in the room with my home theater are in the ceiling and I would like to have two at hearing level

Asked by: jimcover
In order to make speakers left and right you would need two speakers of the same model (ie 2 HEOS 3's) that would need to be grouped and set to stereo pair through the HEOS App..
Answered by: Brett
Date published: 2017-01-12

I would really love to play some of the music I have collected for years. I have created playlist on Amazon, Itunes and I have downloaded Plex media server. I have been working on this for about two years. SO Frustrated because WHy cant I play my music?

Asked by: joeN
Hello Joen, I am sorry to hear you are frustrated. First I would like to make sure you downloaded your music onto the PLEX server as this is a common issue. Another option may be to put them on a NAS drive and connect that to your network. This would allow you to access your music via the HEOS app.
Answered by: Brett
Date published: 2017-01-04

Can I connect 4-5 Heos 7 speakers via Link to an AVR-X7200WA and Denon blu-ray to get front and rear stereo surround sound channels wirelessly for home theater? Goal is remote control and surround audio of the whole home theater over the wifi network. 

Asked by: powrby4d
Yes, you can connect up to 32 HEOS Devices in one group. Unfortunately, at this time you would be unable to set up the HEOS devices as front or rear speakers as you are planning on. The HEOS speakers can be Stereo Paired for Left and Right but not Front and Rear.
Answered by: Brett
Date published: 2016-12-09

Can I play directly from my computer by using this as a wifi speaker (like I can with my Zeppelin) or do I have to use the app?

Asked by: Darin
Windows "Play To" or "Cast To" works indeed, but (at the momen) Foobar2000 with foo_upnp and foo_out_upnp plugins doesn't work unfortunately. Especially foo_out_upnp is a gem regarding it delivers exactly what you describe from the Foobar2000 player. Foobar2000 is the preferred player ofcourse while it has CUE / Playlist support :), better than "Cast to", for example if you have one large WAV file, "Cast to" will treat this like one big track while Foobar2000 sees the tracks (with CUE file). Disclaimer: Neither Denon of the plug-in author is here 'at fault' because both works as advertised :)
Answered by: Grimson
Date published: 2018-12-14

Can I connect 4 heos 7's and the heos sub to play music/tv, not looking for surround sound or stereo, just want it to be loud.

Asked by: Tony b
Hi Tony. It’s possible to use an analog output from the TV to connect to the AUX input of a HEOS 7, then group your other HEOS speakers with it, but there will be a significant delay between video and audio. With that said, the setup which you described would really be best served by including a HEOS HomeCinema TV soundbar with wireless subwoofer. By connecting your TV to the HEOS HomeCinema, and using the TV Grouping feature, you can play TV audio throughout your multi room audio system. By grouping your HEOS 7 wireless speakers with the HEOS HomeCinema you can play TV audio to all of the speakers with minimal delay, and it will be plenty loud. I should also point out that the subwoofer is not available as a separate HEOS product. It specifically pairs with the sound bar and is not able to be used independently. If you’re interested in the HEOS HomeCinema, please check it out at the link below. Thanks! https://usa.denon.com/us/heos-homecinema-soundbar-with-wireless-subwoofer
Answered by: Mike D
Date published: 2016-10-18

hi - could i use heos 7 not only as my main audio streaming speaker, but as my home theater ( connected to my tv) as well?

Asked by: wert
Hello. It is possible to play TV audio through a HEOS wireless speaker by connecting the TV's analog audio output (if it has one) to the AUX input of the speaker. To do this you will need a stereo RCA to 3.5mm adapter. This will allow you to connect the red and white audio output of your TV to the single 3.5mm AUX connection on the HEOS 7.
Answered by: Mike D
Date published: 2016-10-12

Can I play 2 HEOS 7 at the same time using bluetooth?

Asked by: Maikelgm
Yes, you can. Although your Bluetooth source (mobile phone, tablet, laptop, etc) will likely only connect with one device at a time, you can start Bluetooth playback on one of the speakers, and then use the HEOS app to group both of them together. The Bluetooth source device will be connecting with one speaker, and that speaker will be sharing the audio with any other speakers that are grouped with it. Of course, this requires that both speakers be connected to your network. If there is no network connection, then this would not be possible. Thanks!
Answered by: Mike D
Date published: 2016-09-23

do these speakers have "auto detection" or standby mode whereby it will detect a signal eliminating having to turn each unit on and off? 

Asked by: Rios
All HEOS products have automatic power management. Most of the time the unit will be in "Quick Start Mode". To save power, the device will automatically enter “Quick Start Mode” whenever there is no network access or playback for 20 minutes and will automatically resume to full power whenever the device is selected and playing music. The front LED will remain blue to show that it's ready for playback. By the way, you can also adjust the brightness of that LED and even turn it off completely in the device settings in the HEOS app. You can read an overview of the power modes at the following link to the Power Modes section of the web manual: http://manuals.denon.com/HEOS75HS2/ALL/EN/PCIRSYgnmtsjen.php Thanks!
Answered by: Mike D
Date published: 2016-09-09

Is there any other difference between the Heos 7 Series 1 and the Series 2 besides that the 2 has Bluetooth and Hi Res Audio.? Any different drivers?

Asked by: andresart
The speaker itself maintains the same design, including the drivers, and will have identical sonic qualities. The primary difference between the two is that HS2 (series 2) models have built in Bluetooth and Hi-Res audio playback. The improved digital processing chip which enables Hi-Res audio playback in the HS2 could also enable other features in the future which series 1 speakers might not be capable of. There are none to speak of at this time, but it's worth pointing out as something to consider if deciding whether to purchase a discounted series 1 speaker, or a series 2 speaker. Thanks!
Answered by: Mike D
Date published: 2016-08-15
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_HEOS7HS2, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_denon
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT