HEOS Amp

HEOS AMP is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 48.
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_HEOSAMPHS2, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_denon
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

  • Plays High Resolution Audio
  • Bluetooth® Integrated
  • Turn any speakers into a wireless zone
  • Features the same wireless ease of use as our self-powered HEOS speaker models
  • Featuring advanced Class D digital amplification in a sleek compact chassis

Features - HEOS Amp

HEOS wireless amplifier: turn any speakers into a wireless zone.

The HEOS Amp is designed to add HEOS multi-room audio functionality to a pair of stereo speakers, and features the same wireless ease of use as our self-powered HEOS speaker models.

Featuring advanced Class D digital amplification, the HEOS Amp delivers 100 watts maximum power per channel, with lowest distortion and high current capability that provides reliable and stable operation with lower impedance speakers, including 4 ohms models.

With the HEOS Amp, you can enjoy listening to your favorite loudspeakers, and the high power rating means that you can enjoy room-filling sound quality even at concert hall levels.

In addition to the stereo speaker outputs, the HEOS Amp features additional connectivity, including a sub output for connection to a powered subwoofer. There's also an analog stereo line input (via RCA jacks), and an additional auxiliary input via 3.5mm jack for direct connection to a portable player's headphone output.

An optical digital input lets you connect a digital music source such as a CD player, and a USB port lets you connect a portable thumb drive to listen to your favorite tracks. You can also use the USB port to charge your portable device. In addition to the built-in dual band "N" wireless system, the HEOS Amp is also equipped with an RJ-45 Ethernet port for direct connection to a wired LAN setup.

As with our HEOS wireless speaker models, you'll be able to stream your favorite music tracks and control the HEOS Amp with our HEOS App, which is available in both iOS and Android versions. With the HEOS App, you can choose to listen to music tracks on your smartphone, tablet or portable audio player, and you also can listen to your choice of internet radio stations, and you can also listen to your favorite music streaming service.

The home stereo amplifier lets you choose different songs for each room, or you can listen to the same song in all rooms. Our exclusive digital technology provides precise audio synchronization (within microseconds) to ensure top audio fidelity and stereo imaging quality.

The stylish HEOS Amp enclosure features elegant silver accents, and for convenience, there are volume and mute controls discreetly placed on the side panel.

  • TURN ANY EXISTING PAIR OF SPEAKERS INTO A HEOS ZONE
  • NOW OFFERING HIGH RESOLUTION AUDIO DELIVERING THE ULTIMATE LISTENING EXPERIENCE OVER NETWORK OR USB ALL IN THE CONVENIENCE OF YOUR HOME.
  • 100W X 2 CLASS D AMPLIFICATION
  • STREAM FROM YOUR FAVORITE MUSIC SERVICE SUCH AS PANDORA, SPOTIFY, TUNEIN, AMAZON MUSIC, IHEART RADIO, SIRIUSXM, SOUNDCLOUD, TIDAL OR RHAPSODY VIA BLUETOOTH OR WI-FI AUDIO STREAMING.
  • PLAY ANY SONG IN ANY ROOM ON DEMAND FROM STREAMING SERVICES VIA BLUETOOTH OR WI-FI AUDIO STREAMING Bluetooth® on the HEOS wireless multi-room sound system.
  • MULTI-ROOM FUNCTION
  • SUPERIOR SOUND
  • EASY TO USE APP
  • EASY SETUP
  • PLAY AND SOURCE ON ANY SPEAKER FROM ANY SMART DEVICE: STREAMING CLOUD SERVICES, DIRECTLY FROM PHONE/TABLET,USB, NETWORK STORAGE, AUX IN.
  • BETTER INDUSTRIAL DESIGN

All HEOS speakers feature:

MULTI-ROOM SOUND

Every room can have its own HEOS sound. Or, group multiple speakers to fill the house with the same song. Multi-room means multiple options.
learn more

APPS & STREAMING SERVICES

Cloud music, streaming music and your music library—all your favorite sources are supported by this amazing FREE app.
learn more

AMAZING SOUND QUALITY

It’s no accident that HEOS speakers produce pristine sound. They are engineered by the experts at Denon, innovators in audio for more than 100 years.
learn more

EASY SETUP

It’s amazing how quickly you can start listening to your HEOS speakers. Place your speakers, and you will be listening to music in minutes. It’s really that simple.
learn more

Amazon Alexa Voice Control

Use your voice to stream your favorite music services to this HEOS-enabled device. Ask Alexa to play music from Pandora, Amazon Music and much more. Switch between inputs (Blu-ray, DVD, Media Player, etc.), turn volume up or down, pause, mute and play the next song — all with your voice.

To start streaming with Alexa voice commands, open the Alexa app and select “Skills.” Add HEOS Home Entertainment to enable. Then, go to Smart Home in the Alexa app menu and choose Devices and Discover or say “Alexa, discover my devices.”

With HEOS Home Entertainment and Alexa, you can stream to this product and any other HEOS-enabled device.
learn more

Google Assistant Voice Control

Ask your Google Home, Google app or other devices with Google Assistant built-in to control content across your listening environment. Start music in the HEOS app, then ask your Google Assistant to control volume, play, pause, skip tracks and more. ‘Works with the Google Assistant’ feature is always improving — further enhancements arrive in 2019.
learn more

Josh.ai Smart Home Voice Automation

An elevated voice agent for the high-end smart home, Josh.ai offers flexible voice control for nearly any aspect of your day-to-day experience and entertainment environment. Use voice commands to control the thermostat, lights, home appliances, speakers, AVR and more. Josh.ai is installed by custom integrators and accessed through an app on your phone or tablet. Works with iOS and Android devices.
learn more

Specs - HEOS Amp

Audio System

Power Amplifier Rated output 100 W+100 W (6 Ω/ohms, 1 kHz, T.H.D. 0.7 %)
70 W + 70 W (8Ω/ohms, 20 Hz _ 20 kHz, T.H.D. 0.05%)

Impedance 4 – 16 Ω/ohms

Input sensitivity/Input impedance 150 mV/47 kΩ/kohms

Total Distortion ANALOG IN: 0.1 %(1 kHz)

S/N ratio (10 W, 6 Ω/ohms, IHF-A) -

Frequency response 20 Hz to 20 kHz : ±1.5 dB

Music Sources

Music Services Supported Spotify, TuneIn, Napster, SiriusXM, Tidal, Deezer, Mood:Mix and SoundCloud with more coming soon.
Subject to availability in your area.

Music Stored On Phone/Tablet iTunes music stored locally on your iOS device or music files on your Android or Kindle Fire device.

NAS (Network Attached Storage) Play from your home network: DLNA compliant.

USB Storage Connected to the HEOS Amp or other HEOS player. Aux Input: Analog or optical digital sources connected to the HEOS Amp or other HEOS players.

Music Downloads DRM-free downloads from any service.
Subject to audio format support.

Internet Radio Supported Streaming AAC, MP3, WMA (via the TuneIn service).

Album Art Supported JPG, PNG, BMP and GIF picture formats.

Audio Formats Supported Audio Formats Supported:
WMA: Up to and including 192kbps
AAC and MP3: Up to and including 320kbps
WAV, ALAC and FLAC: Up to and including 24-bit/192kHz.
DSD: 2.8MHz, 5.6MHz

Bluetooth Supported Play on one speaker or add other HEOS speakers in party mode.

Aux Input Analog or optical digital sources connected to the HEOS Amp or other HEOS players.

Networking

Wireless Connectivity Supports latest dual band wireless networks (including 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac standards).

Wired Connectivity Single RJ-45 jack for connection to wired Ethernet

General

Power Supply AC 120 V, 60 Hz

Weight 6.2lbs

Operating Temperature Range 41°F to 95°F

Package Contents HEOS Amp
Power cord
3.5mm setup cable
Ethernet cable
Quick Start Guide

Buttons and Indicators Volume up/down
Mute / Mute button LED indicator
Multicolored LED status indicator
Network ‘connect’ button (rear)
Bluetooth ‘connect’ button (rear)

Dimensions (H x W x D) 3.7in x 8.74in x 8.43in

Product Finish Gunmetal Silver front, top and back panels with black sides.

Downloads - HEOS Amp

pdf file
Online Manual
pdf file
Owner's Manual - English

3.24 MB
2016-12-20

pdf file
Owner's Manual - French

3.26 MB
2016-12-20

pdf file
Quick Start Guide - English

3.23 MB
2016-12-20

pdf file
Quick Start Guide - French

3.73 MB
2016-12-20

pdf file
Specification Sheet - English

3.98 MB
2016-09-25

Videos - HEOS Amp

Anywhere Sounds Amazing
HEOS Loves Spotify Connect

Reviews And Awards - HEOS Amp

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Sound Little Amp So I had some speaker wires ran outside from my NuTone IM3303 for future speakers but found this Gem instead. Purchased two Polk Audio Atrium 6's; plugged them into this Amp and Wow!!! This little thing rocks. Have it tied to my Marantz AV7703 and can't be happier when we have gatherings here now. Thanks Denon! I have a huge request, put this technology into a lightbulb so I can plug them into the recessed lighting throughout my house. Thanks again.
Date published: 2017-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! As an installer of the product I have used so many amps on new installations and retrofit applications. Heos takes complicated ill-performing systems and creates perfect whole home audio distribution. I have never had a customer complain or be unsatisfied. I would recommend professional installation as the amps are highly tuned and sensitive to shorts, also WiFi may need to be addressed.
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding!!! I am a professional home theater installer and I have installed many of these along with many other HEOS products. The HEOS amp and the entire HEOS line is fantastic!!! If you have had any issues at all or written a bad review, I'm sorry to say that you probably just didn't understand the product or how it works. As I stated before, I have installed many of these and every single customer has absolutely loved it!!! The free app is very simple and works great! The only problem I have ever seen had to do with the network itself, the entire HEOS system runs on the network, so you need to make sure you have a good router. If your router is old, slow, or just not good... well then the HEOS system will not work properly. This is the poor networks fault, not HEOS. I highly, highly reccomed anything HEOS and I love installing it! It's easy to install, easy to use and sounds great! What's not to love! The only thing I'd like to see on this amp, is a low level output.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and getting better I was one of the first to use this system years ago and it just keeps getting better. The sound has aways been great but now the app is much better. More services and better integration with the TV bar now that it has a time delay feature. The only thing missing is Apple Music and control from my Mac.
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Really Good. Almost. As a basic amplifier, there are no real issue. But when used as part of the HEOS ecosystem, there is much room for improvement. The lack of Airplay support is a huge disappointment. The HEOS application is clunky and not intuitive to use. These factors severely limit how awesome the AMP could be.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great solution for our Gym. We start with a Bluetooth speaker and Pandora, we soon realized that the speaker couldn't be moved or we would lost the conection, Bad for business. As soon as I heard what Heos Amp could do for our business I was sold, we love it, our members love and comment on the great sound and quality.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HAte it! spent a lot of Money on a system too complicated for me to enjoy...NOT user friendly...my installer set it up and my salesperson set up my app on my phone...If anything gets out of whack my system is INOPERABLE and BEST BUY wants me to pay for a RE INSTALL!!! what the heck? NOPE
Date published: 2018-05-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as good as advertised Great in theory but lots of issues that keep it from operating normally. App doesn't work well with devices that have enabled ATT wifi calling nor does it work with devices that have a 5ghz connection. Also, the music sources seem extensive but in practice it is very limited.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the amp and what it does but not the price. I am using this to control my outdoor speakers and love the flexibility of using my phone and being able to access several streaming features as well as my computer. But the unit is pricey - if it was cheaper I wouldn't hesitate to get another one.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid - with room for improvement The amp produces a great sound. Once you get your head around how the app works and with other Denon receivers, it works pretty well. Wifi connections and Spotify connections can be flakey. Whether that is Denon or other issues is debatable.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Amp failure 2 out of 4 of my amps have failed in the last two years. They are extremely expensive to replace and one of them I haven’t been able to spend the money to repair. It is ridiculous that I spent this much on something that fails so quickly.
Date published: 2018-09-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Amazing, rich sound. App needs work. Overall, the amp works well. When it works, the sound quality is superb. The HEOS app; however, could use much improvement. It stalls frequently when initially playing tracks from a device (iOS in my situation). It cycles through the playlist multiple times- seemingly unable to figure out how to play them. Resetting the amp and the app multiple times doesn't always correct the issue. I believe a major oversight of the development team is the inability to fast-forward or reverse while in a track. If you are playing a lengthy track and want to listen to a certain portion again, you must replay the entire track. The inclusion of Bluetooth to the latest models is a welcome addition. However, since placement of these units is best suited to out-of-sight equipment racks and control rooms, the limitated range of Bluetooth can be more hampering than beneficial. Bottom line: excellent sound from a device with a very small footprint. Reasonable price point. App could benefit from some bug fixes and enhancement to move forward and backward within individual tracks.
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Sound, Application is not easy to use. I love the unit, I hate the app... The application is just not easy to use. There is very limited functionality and you can NOT control speakers independently, therefore you get Bass and Treble that's it!
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from heos amp does not seem to have enough power to run my jbl ceiling speakers . also have a center channel speaker . amp overheats and shuts down with red light blinking when speakers run for more than 1 minute
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely hard to use. This system is the most difficult to figure out and operate. To get different sets of speakers to work together is very tricky. The app continues to change and is hard to keep up.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Amp is fine. App is not. The HEOS software doesn’t have nearly the consistency that it should. I have been a loyal Denon customer for over a decade and I cannot understand how they put their name on HEOS.
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sound, easy to use! I use this with a set of Acoustic Landscape outdoor speakers. It is 4 satellites and a sub and it plays plenty loud enough even outside. Amazing power for such a small amp.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a stable product Slow compared to Sonos Fewer music application options than Sonos Far less stable compared to Sonos No airplay option - blue tooth is not as reliable
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will it have Support for Airplay 2 I have two of these amps, will they be able to support Airplay 2 with a firmware update and if so when can we expect that update to be released?
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Than Expected We added two home theatres at once. This is the first time buying a Denon. I am very impressed with the bass and near surround sound audio.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome sound I love the sound that comes from this device compared to other devices that are out there are or that have been out there in a few years
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Household music This replaced the receiver that was utilized for Zone 2 allowing us to use all Apps that we had on our phone.
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Amps Great amp for the price. Love the wireless capabilities. Music can be turned on using any smart device
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everything is good but... Need Airplay!!! Hate that cable option during setup! The app is not so intuitive for the firsttimers.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good sound, terrible upgrades. Nice system with good sound but Heos doesn't look to the future or upgrade past model software.
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my house Added amp to power speakers installed by previous owner throughout my house. Works great.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Setup, Love it! Great sound to my bookshelf speakers. Easy Setup! Wish I had a native app for macOS :)!
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable sound and purity of music The system delivers uncomprising sound quality delivering music that is clear and pure b
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound and total control! Clean, accurate and plenty of power. Best of all, it's all controlled from our devices.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible app Not sure how good the amp is since the HEOS app is terrible. I might return it
Date published: 2018-04-10
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_HEOSAMPHS2, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_denon
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 63ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Q&A - HEOS Amp

Can i play Apple Lossless files from my NAS (via wifi or ethernet cable) directly without using my computer, tablet, or phone?

Asked by: Spike
Hey Spike, So the answer to your question is yes it can play Apple Lossless files from a NAS. If configured properly. The HEOS app is DLNA compliant so it will have no problem finding the NAS. I hope this helps if not you can always give us a call to have one of our expert technical support team members assist with any other concerns you may have.
Answered by: Denon Support
Date published: 2019-03-07

Can I access the HEOS amp through Spotify? Or do I need to download and use the HEOS app every time I want to use it?

Asked by: Dagsterf
Hey Dagster, You will actually need to use the Spotify connect feature which comes with a Spotify premium subscription. I hope this helps if not you can always give us a call to have one of our expert technical support team members assist with any other concerns you may have.
Answered by: Denon Support
Date published: 2019-03-07

Is it possible to use my Denon AVR X3400H together with an HEOS AMP to power my passive Surround Speakers of a 5.1.2 setup (trying to avoid the cabling)? Considering the AVR is HEOS enabled. Or would such a Scenario only be possible with the HEOS AVR?

Asked by: ED2278
Hey Ed, So, unfortunately, it will not work. You are correct that only the HEOS AVR and the HEOS BAR will be able to create a 5.1 with wireless surround using HEOS Speakers. I hope this helps if not you can always give us a call to have one of our expert technical support team members assist with any other concerns you may have.
Answered by: Denon Support
Date published: 2019-03-06

Will the HEOS Amp support AirPlay 2 in the near future?

Asked by: FroyoResearcher
Hey FroyoResearcher, Currently, we have no official announcement that shows that this unit will receive the Airplay 2 feature. I hope this helps if not you can always give us a call to have one of our expert technical support team members assist with any other concerns you may have.
Answered by: Denon Support
Date published: 2019-03-06

Can’t connect hs2 to network with audio cable or Ethernet cable

Asked by: Dens dad
Hey Den's Dad, Sorry, you're having trouble connecting the HS2 to your network. However, it sounds like you may want to perform a Network Reset and/or a factory reset. Steps for network reset 1. Press and hold the Bluetooth button and the connect button at the same time for 10 seconds or until the LED starts to flash amber 2. Once it flashes amber in the front, you can let go of the buttons. 3. After 30 seconds to a minute, the light would go to flashing blue then a solid amber. 4. Once it goes to solid amber, you can go through the setup process. If that fails then you will need to perform a factory reset. Steps for a factory reset. If currently hardwired via ethernet to the network, unplug it. 1. Press and hold the Bluetooth button during the whole process on the back of the device. 2. Unplug the power cable for 15 seconds. 3. After 15 seconds, plug the power cable back in. 4. Once it flashes amber in the front, you can let go of the Bluetooth button. 5. It will flash amber for 10-15 minutes then go to solid amber. 6. once it goes to solid amber, you can go through the setup process either via A. aux or B. Ethernet. A. for aux, plug the aux connection from your phone or tablet to the heos device, then go the setup process on the app through "setup now" or "add device". B. plug an ethernet cable from the router and into the back of the heos device. Once it goes from solid amber to solid blue, you can open the app, go to settings (the gear icon) choose my devices, then the heos device, then network and choose your wifi network there. Once you select it, it will ask for a password. once you enter the password, it will ask to unplug the ethernet and then it will configure itself for wireless. 7. once it's solid blue it will ask for an update. that update will take 30 minutes to an hour to complete depending on wifi speed and strength. 8. once the update is finished and the device is solid blue, you are ready to go. I hope this helps if not you can always give us a call to have one of our expert technical support team members assist with any other concerns you may have.
Answered by: Denon Support
Date published: 2019-03-05

Can I connect Denon AVR X4400H 9.2ch with Denon Heos amp which has two audio outputs & play home theatre 11.2ch speaker configuration ? If it is possible, please send me the installation proceedure. Thanking you, Tusar Behera. India.

Asked by: Tusar
Hey Tusar, So this is possible but only if you are going to connect the HEOS amp to the Height 2 RCA pre-outs on the unit itself. You will not be able to create a wireless 11.2 with the HEOS Amp if that was your end goal. I hope this helps if not you can always give us a call to have one of our expert technical support team members assist with any other concerns you may have.
Answered by: JImF
Date published: 2019-03-04

Can I use Marantz or Denon avr rear surround signal pre amp output to drive HEOS link wirelessly, to drive wired passive rear speakers?  The idea is to use the avr to drive front wired passive, and the rear ones  wirelessly.  

Asked by: Ccfh
Hello Ccfh, Any speakers will have to be wired to a receiver. The HEOS link is a pre-amplifier, it will not work the way you want it to.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-09-19

I go to my iPhone and I can’t play what on my iPhone list does not populate .  I have a lot of music on my phone I can’t play ? Why?

Asked by: Bryman1
Hello Bryman1, There are a few things that it could be. The music must be on your phone and not in the cloud. The music has to be from iTunes and not Apple Music.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-08-22

How can I play my iPhone playlist through the heos amp hs2

Asked by: Bryman1
Hello Anonymous, Go into the HEOS App. Then go to "this ihpone" Select "Playlists"
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-08-07

Your products are compatible with DTS Play-Fi app?

Asked by: Cesar
Hello Cesar, No, DTS Play-FI and HEOS are two completely separate technologies.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-07-23

where can i take my heos amp to be repaired?

Asked by: lloyd
Hello Lloyd, Please reach out to United Radio, they are the repair center. Contact them first before sending anything, so we can make sure it needs to be repaired. https://denon.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1917/related/1
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-06-12

Does spotify, pandora, etc. connect through the amp or phone. I want to be able to play spotify, leave the house and have it still playing while I'm gone. Will it disconnect when I get too far away?

Asked by: BrandonV
Hello BrandonV, If you are using Spotify on your phone and you leave or go off wifi then the HEOS Amp will stop playing. The work around would be to purchase an Echo product and have Alexa play the music from Spotify to the HEOS Amp.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-06-06

My heos amp times out with an error 514 when trying to access playlists in my Jriver media server. Not always, but more often than not.

Asked by: Joetiii
Hello Joetiii, We do not have a list of error codes, so the best option is to first make sure a static IP is assigned to the Jriver media server. You can also try installing different Media Server Software such as Plex to see if this helps. Another option if using a HEOS Amp HS2 is accessing the music library via the Network Share option in the HEOS App. See following link for instructions: https://denon.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/4752/session/L3RpbWUvMTUyNDY3MDg4Ny9zaWQva0xSR3kzTG4
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-04-25

what is the latest firmware version for Heos

Asked by: Rfarrell
Hello Rfarrell, Latest Production HEOS device firmware is 1.442.150
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-04-11

Does the heos amp has an auto detect input? For example aux or line in, as soon as detects audio it plays it. Or everytime I have to tell Heos trough app to start that input?

Asked by: AV Solutions
I am just setting up a HEOS Amp HS2 and it seems like it doesn't automatically switch input. I have to go into the HEOS app and manually select. This is far from optimal. It should either switch automatically or let me switch manually using one of the buttons on the thing... Maybe I am wrong, please let me know. If not, perhaps a firmware upgrade can fix this?
Answered by: AllanDK
Date published: 2018-03-20

Can these be bridged? Was considering doing so with (2) 8 ohm speakers for a net 4ohm load, which the amp says it supports on the back panel.

Asked by: Mike078
Hello Mike078, Yes, the HEOS amp can support a 4ohm load, there is no issue there.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-02-06

I'm looking at locating 6 amplifers in a closet to run 6 speaker areas. Can I daisy chain the CAT5 connectors on each amplifier some how or do I need to run 6 separate CAT5 lines from my router?

Asked by: dougbr73
Hello dougbr73, Since the HEOS Amp only has 1 Ethernet In jack on it, you cannot daisy chain them together. You could use 2 HEOS Drives that you could daisy chain together. They support up to 4 zones per HEOS Drive. The HEOS drive link has been added at the bottom. https://usa.denon.com/us/heos-drive
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2018-01-16

I am thinking about purchase of a heos amp. I have 2 speakers in zone 2 that are currently run with a volume control knobs to adjust the volume up and down.I want to know if I will be able to adjust the volume up and down with the heos amp.and phone app?

Asked by: Rickv
Use the analog outs, not the digital. Turn your volume control all the way up and then control the volume from the wireless device.
Answered by: MFKA
Date published: 2017-12-29

How do I find the imac addresses of the Heos AMP and the Heos 3 speakers?

Asked by: Dutch
Hello Dutch, Using the HEOS App go to Music > Settings > Help > Check My System > About
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2017-10-24

Hello is there any way to control the Heos Amp with a standard remote or is there a remote you offer or that you know might be available?  Looking for an easy solution for babysitters or guests etc. 

Asked by: Bowierae
Hello Bowierae, No, unfortunately there is no remote that comes with or you can use with the HEOS Amp. The App is the only way to use the Amp if you are streaming music. You can use the buttons on the HEOS amp for line in or phono for turntables.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2017-10-24

Can I hook up multiple types of input and have the HEOS intelligently switch between them? For instance, network connection for interent radio, TV sound via optical in and an Amazon Echo Dot via the Aux in.

Asked by: azdave11
Hello azdave11, You can use the Alexa skill - HEOS Home Entertainment to control them by your voice! You are able to switch between sources, pause music and skip tracks.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2017-09-29

Hi! I've tried to connect a amplified subwoofer to my Heos amp. What I experience is that the Heos amp isn't sending any low frequency (less than 100 Hz) signal before putting on higher volumes. Why?

Asked by: Jens
Hello Jens. the frequency response of the HEOS Amp is from 20hz-20khz so it should be reaching lower frequencies. There are two big reasons why the subwoofer will not reach below 100hz. 1. The subwoofer is simply not capable which is unlikely. 2. The crossover is set on the subwoofer to 100hz and it will not reach below 100hz. Please call our technical support team and we will be glad to offer you more support on this issue. 201-762-6665 Monday-Friday 10am-7pm EST
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2017-09-28

Hi! I have recently purchased a heos series 2 amplifier, I have a home control application that I use to control all my devices through IR i have noticed that there is no ir control input on it, how would I get around this?? TIA

Asked by: Jaygable
Hello Jaygable, the HEOS Amp does not have an IR input or output, unfortunately you will not be able to control it with a remote.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2017-09-26

I have a HEOS amp connected to one stereo speaker. I have no wifi it is a second home and connected to amp through Bluetooth after a couple songs it stops any suggestions 

Asked by: Ja0621
Hello Ja0621, resetting the phone and the Heos Amp will be the first two things to start with. If that still does not work, then making sure the volume on the device you are using is all the way up and you can control the volume on the Heos Amp. If all three suggestions still don't work, please contact our customer service at 201-762-6665 M-F 10am-7pm.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2017-09-22

The HEOS amp has 2 channels. Is it possible to have a separate volume control from the app? And consider each channel has a separate zone?

Asked by: COPA
Hello COPA, the HEOS Amp has a Left and a Right channel but they will function together at the same time and will not have independent volume controls. Think of the Heos Amp as a whole it's own independent zone.
Answered by: Ken C
Date published: 2017-09-20

So the HEOS amp will NOT wirelessly connect to HEOS speakers? The HEOS amp will ONLY work with wired speakers? The HEOS amp can ONLY be "controlled" wirelessly, correct?

Asked by: SteveTX
Hi Steve. The HEOS Amp connects to normal wired speakers. HEOS speakers are self powered and don't require any external amplifiers. If you have a HEOS Amp and other HEOS speakers connected to your network, they can be grouped together to play the same audio. In that sense they would be connected wirelessly. "Wireless" in this product line is referring to the fact that they connect to your WiFi network, are controlled using the HEOS app on your wireless mobile device, and use your wireless network to communicate with each other and share audio streams.
Answered by: Mike D
Date published: 2017-06-12

Is it possible to configure the HEOS amp to output the stereo music in the mono mode (i.e., combine the L/R channel of the music before output them to the L/R speakers)?

Asked by: jcMultiRoom
It is not possible to configure the HEOS Amp to play in mono. This feature is available in the HEOS Drive only.
Answered by: Mike D
Date published: 2017-06-02

I have a HEOS Link connected to a AVR-X7200 and I stream to speaker in several rooms. I want to add wired speakers outside. Can I stream the sound from either the HEOS link or the AVR wirelessly to the HEOS AMP?

Asked by: georg
If you connect the Zone 2 pre-out from the AVR-X7200WA to the Line In connection on the HEOS Link, you can use the HEOS Link to wirelessly play zone 2 to a HEOS Amp. Just select the Zone 2 source you want to play on the AVR, set the HEOS Link to the Line In input, then group the HEOS Amp with the HEOS Link to share the audio.
Answered by: Mike D
Date published: 2017-05-22

Can the Heos Amp be used in conjunction with the Heos Soundbar and wireless sub to created 5.1 with the Heos Amp powering in-ceiling speakers that are used as surrounds?

Asked by: Bryan76
Hello Bryan76. This is possible with the HEOS Bar which is soon to be released, but not with the HEOS HomeCinema.
Answered by: Mike D
Date published: 2017-04-03

I've been using Heos link to play my SoundCloud wirelessly... It's lost the ability to connect. Any suggestions on how to get this back?

Asked by: Rosebank
Hi Rosebank. Due to recent changes on the Soundcloud server we are experiencing a temporary outage. We're working to resolve this as quickly as possible. In the meantime you can still stream audio from other music services. Thank you for your patience while we work to resolve the issue.
Answered by: Mike D
Date published: 2017-03-06
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_HEOSAMPHS2, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_denon
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT